Do you qualify for Obesity Surgery?

Not everyone who wants the surgery can be operated on. Our suitability criteria include:
Recommended age limits: 18 to 60 years
Absence of serious psychological disorder and/or alcohol abuse
Weight: around 190kg
BMI: Over 30

First we calculate your Body Mass Index or BMI
The concept is BMI is used to determine the degree of obesity. It is a number which compares a person’s weight with their height (kg/m2).
The World Health Organization (WHO) uses the following categories:

Term BMI (kg/m2)
Underweight <18.5
Normal weight 18.5 – 24.9
Overweight 25.0 – 29.9
Obesity level 1 30.0 – 34.9
Obesity level 2 35.0 – 39.9
Obesity level 3 >40

First we will find out what your BMI is.
Take your weight and divide it by your height. Now look at the WHO standard:
BMI < 25 is ok
25 < BMI < 30 Overweight
30 < BMI < 35 Moderately obese
35 < BMI < 40 Severely obese

The Japanese cut it off at 25 for obesity. The Indians at 27 and the Chinese at 28.

Let’s say your BMI is 37.
The next question is: how much weight do you have to lose to get to 25?
Let’s say 65kg is the target weight. You are in excess of 25kg. You have to lose 25kg.

The size of your stomach is the biggest problem.
You eat but then by the time you stop feeling hungry you’ve already overeaten.
Your stomach can take up to 1 litre. It extends and can even go down to the pelvis.
Take the meal you are going to eat and put it in a blender. How much does it come to? Over 1 litre?
Your daily need is 1,800 calories? So if you ate two gulab jamun you have space for only 1,300 more.

Mumtaz Maher 2
Some people are big eaters. Some people are grazers… they will eat along the way during the day.
Some people love sweet stuff, meetha, desserts.
Some people just love to eat, eat, eat.
Some people eat in excess.
Some people eat comfort food because they are stress-eaters.
What kind of eater are you?
- Bariatric Surgeon Dr Mumtaz Maher